E2010 Wired

The power of our words can inspire change in a single person, then two, then the world.

Waiting for Superman. Riveting. Real. Raw.

On October 13 and 14, in New Haven and Hartford, 250 area residents in each town were the guests of Connecticut Black Alliance for Educational Options and their partner to see a pre-screening of the movie, “Waiting for Superman.” Guests consisted of parents, teachers, students, community leaders, clergy, elected officials and business owners, and just ordinary citizens. In each city, the pre-screening took place a day before the movie was opened to the public. Here’s what folks are saying thus far:

“I really also enjoyed the movie.  I did get teary eyed because I know where my son has been and I know where he is about to go.  The movie made me feel really blessed to have my son in a school that is making a difference in the minority community.  I am so proud to be a Covenant Preparatory Parent.

Please view the attached document.  It’s a picture of my son Eriq for the school reach far dinner.  I’m sorry you can’t view it in color.  My son was so surprised.  He did not know that they were using him as the poster child for the dinner.” Melonie Lindsay

“This movie touched my heart.  I came into work today and shared my experience with my co-workers.  Many are saying that they did hear about the movie and look forward to going.”

Shelby Young, Bloomfield

“Thank you so much for allowing me the opportunity to preview this moving.  I found it interesting, disturbing but also hopeful.  Again, thanks and let me know how I can support you and this movement.”

Violet Haldane

Rick Green, CTConfidential (The Hartford Courant):

Anyone who drives through Hartford regularly might recognize something of themselves in the much-hyped documentary, “Waiting for Superman,” opening in Connecticut today.

The movie begins with Davis Guggenheim — the liberal-minded director of “An Inconvenient Truth” — talking about how he feels guilty when he drives by struggling Los Angeles public schools as he takes his children to their exclusive private school each morning.

In Connecticut, we’ve blithely been cruising by public school carnage in cities for years. Our own “dropout factories” in Hartford, New Haven and Bridgeport rival those in Guggenheim’s gripping, must-see movie. [….]

The last word: Go See The Movie!

Leave a Reply

