E2010 Wired

The power of our words can inspire change in a single person, then two, then the world.

8,694 Spam Comments and Counting (via GroundUp)

I decided to reblog this post here because the spam comments are picking up. On GroundUp, I have well over 9000 spams captured by that wonderful spam catcher, Askimet.

Today, I noticed three spam comments flagged by Askimet on this blog that missed their “catcher.” All three comments were to different blog posts and had different email addresses but they all promoted the same website with the same URL address. The comments made no sense relative to the post they were commenting on.

But the real give-away — the computer IP address for all three comments was the same. So, I did what I do to the very few spams that Askimet doesn’t catch automatically. I changed the comment to reflect the blog post, deleted the website and email addresses and let her rip. I figure if someone goes through all that trouble to spam me, I should return the favor by spending at least a little time on a proper response.

When I first started using the Askimet spam filter, I thought, “Wow. This tool is great. Look how much spam it stopped from clogging up my blog.” Now that my spam filter has blocked 8,694 spammers, I have to ask, what is all the spam about? Its not like I have a whole lot going on here. Its just me and a couple of friends ranting about what's got our ilk up “today.” Who cares! Really. My spam blocker catches 99.5 percent of the spammers that trol … Read More

via GroundUp

Leave a Reply

